facebook icon gmail icon

GBUC Vision

Who are we?

We are Christians from different Evangelical and Protestant churches who want to make Jesus Christ known in the cegeps and universities of French Canada. To do so, we form student groups on each campus to facilitate Bible study and discussion. All are invited to participate no matter what their origin or beliefs.

What is our vision?

Our vision is to see students discover Jesus Christ and explore His relationship to their lives and the world. Some grow in their faith or become Christians for the first time through their student groups. We want to see them develop a spiritual maturity and become Spirit-filled witnesses. Others choose not to accept Christ. Our goal is that this choice is informed, not based on preconceived ideas.

Where do we come from?

GBUC has existed in Quebec since 1965. The first group was formed by students and Christian professors at the University of Montreal. We work in partnership with the English student movement IVCF (Inter Varsity Christian Fellowship of Canada) and often partner with other Christian organizations and churches.

We are part of the IFES (International Fellowship of Evangelical Students) family. This is a growing international movement with 500 000 student members. There are groups in over 150 countries. Our participation in international conferences makes it possible for us to develop a world vision for our ministry. We are co-organizers of the Urbana missions conference, which takes place every three years in the USA.

We pray that the GBUC in Canada may continue to grow and be an encouragement to our country and a model for others!

What do we believe?

Group leaders adhere to our Statement of Faith, which is also that of the International Fellowship of Evangelical Students (or IFES). This is a summary of the most important beliefs of the Evangelical Christian faith. It is not exhaustive, but sufficient to help believers from diverse churches work together in spreading the Gospel. All are invited to read and study it. If it corresponds to what you believe, why not consider becoming a member of GBUC?

GBUC Statement of Faith

  1. The unity of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit in the Godhead.
  2. The sovereignty of God in creation, revelation, redemption and final judgment.
  3. The divine inspiration and entire trustworthiness of Holy Scripture, as originally given, and its supreme authority in all matters of faith and conduct.
  4. The universal sinfulness and guilt of all people since the fall, rendering them subject to God’s wrath and condemnation.
  5. Redemption from the guilt, penalty, dominion and pollution of sin, solely through the sacrificial death (as our representative and substitute) of the Lord Jesus Christ, the incarnate Son of God.
  6. The bodily resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ from the dead and his ascension to the right hand of God the Father.
  7. The presence and power of the Holy Spirit in the work of regeneration.
  8. The justification of the sinner by the grace of God through faith alone.
  9. The indwelling and work of the Holy Spirit in the believer.
  10. The one holy universal Church which is the body of Christ and to which all true believers belong.
  11. The expectation of the personal return of the Lord Jesus Christ.

facebook icon gmail icon

Vision des GBUC

Qui sommes-nous?

Des chrétiens qui veulent faire connaître Jésus-Christ dans les cégeps et universités du Canada francophone. Nous provenons de différentes Églises. Nous sommes de conviction évangélique et protestante. Nous formons sur chaque campus des groupes étudiants pour l’étude de la Bible et la discussion. Tous sont invités à participer, quelles que soient leurs origines ou opinions.

Quelle est notre vision?

Voir des étudiants découvrir Jésus-Christ et explorer sa pertinence pour leur vie et pour le monde. Certains approfondiront leur foi ou deviendront chrétiens pour la première fois. Nous voulons les voir développer une maturité spirituelle et devenir des témoins épanouis.  D’autres choisiront de ne pas adhérer au christianisme, mais leur choix sera informé et non basé sur des préjugés.  

D’où venons-nous?

Nous existons au Québec depuis 1965. Le premier groupe a été formé par des étudiants et des professeurs chrétiens à l’Université de Montréal. Nous travaillons en partenariat avec le mouvement étudiant anglophone IVCF (InterVarsity Christian Fellowship of Canada). Nous coopérons régulièrement avec d’autres organismes chrétiens et Églises.

Les GBUC font partie d’un mouvement international. Il y a plein de groupes dans les écoles du monde entier, avec 500 000 étudiants participants… et ça grandit encore ! Notre affiliation avec l’IFES (International Fellowship of Evangelical Students) fait de nous des membres d’une grande famille active dans plus de 150 pays. Nous participons à des conférences internationales qui permettent le développement d’une vision mondiale pour nos efforts. Par exemple, nous sommes co-organisateurs de la conférence missionnaire Urbana aux États-Unis, qui a lieu tous les trois ans.

Nous prions que les GBUC au Canada puissent grandir encore et être un encouragement pour notre pays et un modèle pour d’autres pays!

Que croyons-nous?

Les responsables des groupes adhèrent à notre base de foi, qui est aussi celle de le l’Union internationale des GBUC (ou IFES). Elle est un résumé des croyances essentielles de la foi chrétienne évangélique. Elle n’est pas exhaustive mais suffisante pour aider des croyants de multiples Églises à travailler ensemble pour promouvoir l’Évangile. Tous sont invités à la lire et l’étudier. Si elle correspond à ce que vous croyez, pourquoi ne pas considérer devenir membre des GBUC?

Base de foi des GBUC

  1. Le Père, le Fils et le Saint-Esprit sont un dans la divinité.
  2. Dieu est souverain dans la création, la rédemption, le jugement et la révélation.
  3. L'Ecriture sainte est divinement inspirée et entièrement digne de confiance; son autorité seule est souveraine dans toutes les questions concernant la foi et la vie du croyant.
  4. Depuis la chute, tous les hommes sont pécheurs et coupables devant Dieu; par conséquent, ils tombent sous le coup de sa colère et de sa condamnation.
  5. Jésus-Christ, le Fils incarné de Dieu, a subi cette condamnation à notre place, en mourant pour nous sur la croix; c'est seulement par sa mort expiatoire que Dieu nous délivre du péché.
  6. Jésus-Christ est ressuscité corporellement d'entre les morts. Il est monté au ciel et s'est assis à la droite de Dieu le Père.
  7. Le Saint-Esprit accomplit l'oeuvre de régénération.
  8. Dans sa grâce, Dieu justifie l'homme pécheur par le moyen de la foi seule.
  9. Le Saint-Esprit demeure et agit dans le croyant.
  10. L'Eglise, une, sainte et universelle, à laquelle appartiennent tous les vrais croyants est le corps de Christ.
  11. L'Eglise attend le retour du Seigneur Jésus-Christ en personne.